International Ship and Port Facility Security Code

Entered in force on 1st July 2004 (SOLAS Chap. XI-2), the ISPS Code is a comprehensive set of measures to enhance the security of ships and port facilities.
Its objectives are to determine which security measures are appropriate and to provide a standardized, consistent framework for evaluating risk, through determination of right security levels and corresponding security measures.

The ISPS Code applies to the following oceangoing ships:

The ISPS Code has two parts, one mandatory (Part A) and one recommendatory (Part B).

The ISPS Code takes the approach that ensuring the security of ships and port facilities is a risk management activity.
To determine which security measures are appropriate, an assessment of the risks must be made in each particular case.


The ISPS certification procedure consists of the following steps:


RINA is recognized by about 100 Flags and it boasts a worldwide network and high skilled auditors able to find out and identify the best suitable solutions for improving the weaker areas and preventing gaps, if any.
We can perform ISPS certification also for ships not classed with RINA.


What is a SSA – Ship Security Assessment more in detail?
It is a basic part of the process to be carried out by appropriate skilled personnel and it shall include at least:

Is it possible to carry out ISPS an ISM audits at the same time?
Yes, RINA can arrange to send one of more auditors qualified for both certifications and perform the two audits during the same intervention.

What about harmonization of ISPS, ISM and other management systems certification?
RINA offers also ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001 and ISO 50001 certifications and may plan on a customized basis a suitable audits scheduling in a best practice view.

Are specific training courses available?
Yes, training courses to qualify ISPS personnel are supplied by RINA Academy. Please contact us for courses calendars or to arrange a tailored made course for your personnel.

You may also like