ISM Code

International Safety Management Certification

Entered into force on 1st July 1988 as SOLAS Chap. IX, the ISM provides an international standard for the safe management and operation of ships and for pollution prevention. Its objectives are ensuring safety at sea, preventing human injury and fatalities and avoiding damage to the environment.
It is applicable to all oceangoing ships over 500 GT and to the owner or management company that has assumed the ship operation responsibility.

Service Details

The ISM Code requires owners and operators to set in place a Safety Management System (SMS) embracing its objectives and involving the totality of the Company’s operations and managed ships.
The SMS allows a Company to measure its performance against a documented system, and it enables a Company to identify areas of improvement in safety practices and pollution prevention measures.


In accordance with the ISM Code and upon satisfactorily results, RINA issues two statutory certificates:

The ISM certification procedure consists of the following steps.

For the Company: Document of Compliance (DOC):

For the Ship: Safety Management Certificate (SMC):


RINA is recognised by more than110 Flags and counts on a worldwide network and high skilled auditors, which are able to find out and identify the best suitable solutions for improving management systems’ weaknesses and preventing gaps.
When performing verifications, we also take into account specific requirements of individual Flag Administrations. We can also perform ISM certification for ships not classed with us.
Moreover, RINA Academy provides training courses on Safety Management System in compliance with the ISM Code requirements (DPA, Internal Auditor, and Refresher Course).


Which is the ISM range of applicability?
ISM is provided to companies operating ships engaged on international voyages, such as: passenger ships, including high-speed passenger crafts; oil tankers, chemical tankers, gas carriers, bulk carriers and cargo high-speed craft of 500 gross tonnage and upwards; other cargo ships and mobile (self-propelled) offshore drilling units of 500 gross tonnage and upwards.

What about harmonization of ISM, ISPS and other management systems certification?
We offer also ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001 and ISO 50001 certifications and may plan on a customized basis a suitable audits scheduling in a best practice view.

Is it possible for a multi-flagged company to be certified?
Yes, the DOC will be issued by agreement among the Flag Administrations involved.

You may also like